My garden

I learned something very important about myself this weekend, that I don’t have to give up on gardening.  I used to think I was horrible, but I no longer do. I’ve always admired those with bountiful plots, secretly wishing I could be more like them.  The truth is, I just didn’t know how to get there.  Last year I threw my garden together lickety split.  I dug up the dirt a bit, made little holes where the seeds went, and dropped them in.  I then watered them, and I was done!  No planning, talking to the seeds, carefully prepping the soil so as to make the perfect bed for the seeds.  I guess I shouldn’t be surprised about the fact we had very little edibles leaving the garden and entering our home.  I also learned it helps to stay on top of watering all summer long, not just the beginning.  This year, a very experienced and generous friend shared her wisdom with me.  We prepared the soil, made a beautiful bed for each little seed, prepping it with a layer of compost, then a layer of vermicompost (worm castings), then some water, and then the seed!  There was definite love that went into it, some quality preparation.  This year, the entire task took quite a bit longer!  But with just a quick glance, it’s quite evident the work that went into the project.

When I feel I’m not good enough, sometimes it means I just don’t have the right tools, or knowledge.  In those times, we are wise to ask for help.  There are others who have been there, and have a lot to share.  This means nothing bad about ourselves, and not even anything bad about our knowledge.  It just means I don’t know or haven’t experienced it, yet.

It pays to take just a little more time doing a project.  It’s better to take longer, and have a higher quality result, than finish it speedily, and not have the result you wish you had.  Good things come to those who wait, or those with patience and peace (my addition).

It’s no use whining about how poor your soil is (or how loud your car, or how thin your wardrobe), that energy is better directed toward how to make the best of what you have.

I have a beautiful garden this year, with chard, dill, arugula, lettuce, edamame, dragon tongue pole beans, eden’s gem melon, a mystery heirloom watermelon, crystal apple cucumbers, a zucchini named Black Beauty, bok choy, brandywine tomatoes, a few different types of peppers, and eggplant.  I can’t wait for the reward!  Thanks Amy!

 

Leave a Reply

