Peace

I have a million things running through my head at any given moment.  Do this, do that, go here, call so and so, knit, read, type, run.  I think it takes work to purposely hone in on one thing at a time.  To go slow, breathe, and listen with your heart rather than your ears.

I had much of today with no obligation written in stone on my calendar.  Free.  Of course I had a million things I wanted to do, so began buzzing around town as fast as I could, trying to fit it all in.  Something inside of me brought me to a place of peace.  I remembered I had packed my camera this morning.  So I called a friend and together we walked around the old hospital grounds with our cameras, looking for inspiration.  I’m so glad I did.  So glad I called.  So glad I slowed down.

We all need little breaks like that.  We’re all busy, every day.  And without intentional moments of peace, solitude, engaging in activities that fill our souls, it’s a matter of time before we run dry.  We found all sorts of cool images, things that told a story, just waiting to be noticed.  One of my favorite pictures was of a hole in a brick building, up high, and a ways away.  I snapped a shot.  Only when I got back to the computer and cropped that shot, did I realize a bold and beautiful bird hiding in the shadows.  I had no idea he was there!  I love being surprised like that, how easy it would have been to have missed it.  If I was too busy rushing around.

Quiet…sunshine…conversation between friends, interrupted only by a question or two about aperature or white balance.  Exploration.  Of the beauty nestled in Traverse City.  Of a safe presence.  Of creative imagination.

I was filled.  Only then, did I proceed to knock off a few more items on my to-do list.  The rest can wait for tomorrow.  What a beautiful world we live in.

Leave a Reply

