Thanksgiving

A friend of mine challenged her Facebook friends to go on a 30 day challenge of noting one thing each day you are thankful for.  I took it.  It was easy.  And interesting to find myself noting things throughout my day, and saying “there’s my piece for the day!”  I actually found myself living, breathing and dreaming thanksgiving.  It’s true, you find what you think you’ll find…if you think it, it’llhappen (good or bad).  It was a fun adventure…and now that it’s done…well…I kind of wish I could continue.  Why not?  Right now, at this very moment, I am sooo thankful I have parents who drilled into me when I was young, that I could do whatever I wanted to, as long as I set my mind to it.  I am thankful, oh so thankful, they have ALWAYS pushed me to follow my dreams, and not worry about money…for if I do what I love, and feel called to, the money will come.  (My present difficulty by the way). I am thankful they helped teach me what constitutes a healthy relationship.  I have brought those lessons into my marriage, my relationship with my children, friends, and even the workplace. I am thankful they gave me the building blocks for life…Presently, I can recognize when I’m in a destructive dance, and take necessary steps to get out.  I’m thankful they have helped me be hopeful.

I’m thankful I have a husband who supports everything I do, who helps me back onto the path when I stray, and who holds me accountable.  He loves me, cracks and all.  I don’t know what I’d do without him.  I love his honesty, even when what he speaks is something I’d rather not hear.  He’s usually right.

I love that the people in my life, all of them, have helped me become the person I am today.  I have undergone incredible personal growth in the past year and a half…thanks to some new and wonderful friendships, peace within, a growing awareness and increasing understanding of my vocational discernment, being open to God’s leading, and much more…

I am thankful for the lessons gained from the people AND experiences in my life…from my success I experience in yearly music competitions as a high schooler (I was a flutist), to, as a 16 year old, successfully teaching a two-year old, never before ridden,1500 pound quarter horse, to ride…AND to win a blue ribbon in Western Pleasure!…to the satisfaction from learning I passed my licensure exam.   I know what it feels like to be totally nervous…knees visibly shaking, lips twitching (does anyone else do that?!!  SOOOO annoying!!), anxious butterflies…and I know what it feels like to feel the wave of relief…and pride.  The pride that comes from accomplishing that which you thought you couldn’t.  The pride you feel when you work sooooooo hard to achieve a goal, and can finally see it to fruition.  The pride that comes from witnessing the fact that YOU made a mark.  YOU made a difference.  You did something.

I’m choosing now, to think of those experiences.  To allow the energy that is immediately accessible the second I recalled each of those moments, to fill me NOW.  I’m choosing to be continually thankful, and aware.  To not wish I had this, or had that.  Or that money grew on the tree in my backyard.  Or I had everything I wanted right now.  I’m choosing to be peaceful in the moment, and allow each moment to teach me…to help me be more self-aware…more attentive to the people around me…and more confident in my ability to do whatever I want to, as long as I set my mind to it.  Thank you mom and dad, you were the first influences on my life…and I couldn’t have asked for a more supportive foundation.

I’m so excited for the upcoming chapters!!

4 Comments on “Thanksgiving”

  1. Mom says:

    warmed and thankful for you…

  2. Michelle Anderson says:

    In the course of our lives, I think most of jump from “I wish I could be…” to “I wish I had been…” and totally skip the in between “I am…” part. The living of life happens in the in-between. Most of us just wish our lives away. I am beginning to realize how truly important the “now” moments are and how truly relevant each seemingly insignificant event in my life truly is. I think I, too, will try this thankful experiment. Thanks, Anna!


Leave a Reply

